Phil Taylor announces that 2017 will be final year on PDC circuit

Phil Taylor

Phil Taylor won a final of his universe titles in 2013

Sixteen-time universe champion Phil Taylor has announced that 2017 will be his final year on a Professional Darts Corporation debate circuit.

The 56-year-old will stop furloughed after a 2018 World Championship, that ends subsequent January.

He says he might still play in a Premier League and a World Series.

The former universe array one, now ranked array six, has also won 15 World Matchplays and a World Grand Prix on 11 occasions.

It is these vital events, and a low-profile Players’ Championship array that Taylor intends to give up, while still potentially being accessible to play in non-ranking tournaments like a remunerative Premier League, during a ask of PDC authority Barry Hearn.

Media playback is not upheld on this device

Highlights: Dominant Taylor wins in Cardiff

“The Premier League and a World Series are a ones that Barry has asked me to cruise [playing in] so let’s see what happens in January,” Taylor told ITV 4.

“The Premier League and a World Series are six, seven, 8 months out of a year, so it wouldn’t be timid really.”

Taylor was vocalization before a 10-6 win over Michael Smith in a initial turn of a Masters, a initial televised contest given his quarter-final exit during a World Championship to Raymond outpost Barneveld.

“It’s a final year for me,” he said. “This will substantially be my final Masters.

“The World Championship will be my final one. we can suffer it more. I’m some-more vehement now and it’s ever so strange.

“I’ve got butterflies, given we didn’t have that before. I’m looking brazen to a subsequent 10 months.”

Taylor, from Stoke-on-Trent, won a initial of his universe titles in 1990 when partial of a British Darts Organisation, afterwards a usually vital darts circuit.

He was one of 16 players that shaped a breakaway World Darts Council in 1992, a association that became a PDC and hold a possess chronicle of a universe championship in 1994.

At a rise of his powers, Taylor won 8 unbroken universe titles between 1995 and 2002, though has not won a contest given 2013.