WGA Awards: Richard LaGravenese to Receive Career Achievement Honor

Richard LaGravenese will be given a career feat respect during a 2016 Writers Guild Awards New York rite on Feb. 13, it was announced Thursday. The screenwriter will accept a Ian McClellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement.

LaGravenese has combined 17 underline films, including a Terry Gilliam-directed, Robin Williams-starring The Fisher King; Alfonso Cuaron’s A Little Princess; Clint Eastwood’s The Bridges of Madison County; Barbra Streisand’s The Mirror Has Two Faces and Robert Redford’s The Horse Whisperer. He also wrote and destined P.S. we Love You, The Last Five Years and Freedom Writers, among other movies.

LaGravenese also blending Scott Thorson’s discourse of his attribute with Liberace for HBO’s Behind a Candelabra.

”The career of Richard LaGravenese is a stability source of honour to his colleagues in a Writers Guild of America, East,” WGA East boss Michael Winship pronounced in a statement. “With attraction and a certain grasp of a tellurian condition, Richard’s screenplays poignantly constraint a vicissitudes of life. His creativity and ability move to all of his work a particular indicate of perspective that wins a hearts and provokes a minds of anyone propitious adequate to see a film that bears his credit.”

The Ian McClellan Hunter Award was determined in 1992 to respect a Writers Guild member for his or her physique of work as a author in suit cinema or television. Hunter, a longtime WGAE member, was tormented by a blacklist in a 1950s and went on to write several successful TV array underneath a pseudonym before reemerging as a TV writer. Last year’s endowment was given to Paul Haggis, with prior recipients including David Simon, David Koepp, Claire Labine, Frank Gilroy, Alan Zweibel, Andrew Bergman, Marshall Brickman, John Sayles, Jules Feiffer, Nora Ephron and Walter Bernstein.

LaGravenese was nominated for a best strange screenplay Oscar for Fisher King and has perceived dual Emmy nominations, including one for Candelabra.

The WGA East recently announced that Senator Al Franken will accept a Evelyn F. Burkey Award during a New York rite of a 2016 WGA Awards. The prize, determined to respect Burkey, who helped combined a WGA East and served as the executive executive until her retirement in 1972, recognizes a chairman or classification whose contributions have brought respect and grace to writers. The endowment has formerly been given to Norman Lear, James Schamus, Edward Albee, Walter Bernstein, Joan Didion, Martin Scorsese, Sidney Lumet, Arthur Miller, Joan Ganz Cooney and Walter Cronkite.

The 2016 WGA Awards’ New York rite will start concurrently with a Los Angeles rite on Feb. 13. The Writers Guild Awards respect superb essay in film, TV, new media, video games, news, radio, graduation and striking animation.