BBC Sports Personality of a Year: Liverpool to theatre 2017 ceremony

Last year, Andy Murray became a initial chairman to win a endowment on 3 occasions

The 2017 BBC Sports Personality of a Year rite will be hold on Sunday, 17 Dec during Liverpool’s Echo Arena.

The prestigious awards event, initial staged in 1954, was final hold during a venue in 2008.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan will horde a jubilee of a best sporting achievements of 2017, in front of an assembly of scarcely 11,000.

Britain’s universe series one tennis actor Andy Murray has won a categorical esteem in 3 of a past 4 years.

The Scot is a usually chairman to win a endowment some-more than twice, while other former winners embody Bobby Moore, Sir Henry Cooper, Virginia Wade and Daley Thompson, and Princess Anne and daughter Zara Phillips.

Ticket sum for this year’s eventuality will be announced after in a year.

  • Look behind during all a winners of BBC Sports Personality of a Year

Barbara Slater, executive of BBC Sport, said: “2017 outlines a really sparkling year of sport, from England winning a Six Nations to Chelsea winning a Premier League, Arsenal scooping a FA Cup during Wembley to Anthony Joshua’s nail-biting quarrel opposite Wladimir Klitschko.”

Liverpool’s mayor Joe Anderson said: “We’re celebrated and vehement to be rolling out a red runner for BBC Sports Personality of a Year in Liverpool.

“We’re a city full of ardent sports fans and we’re eminent a universe over for a hospitality, so we can't wait to acquire a BBC in December.”